Last day to Rome

12 Jun

 

IMG_1817       My last night sleeping with Italian men… I left 2 of them sleeping soundly in the little village of Fromello as I disappeared into the day that I knew was going to be a scorcher.
I was surprised to continue on trail for a fair way before it became obvious I was about to enter a major city. The rubbish everywhere was disappointing. That breakdown lane below was a garbage dump.IMG_1818

Really Italy. You need to clean up your act. I’d noticed yesterday that there were TVs dumped in creeks and bags of waste just chucked. Bottles and cigarette packets galore 😠
Anyhoo…. Bought myself a gelato and some focaccia and made my way south. The roads were choked with traffic in parts and I was travelling faster than the cars. IMG_1822

At other times I was on ridiculously dangerous roads with no verge. Nothing worse than getting cleaned up in the last 15 Kms. The photo below was taken when there weren’t two lanes of traffic speeding towards me with nowhere for me to get off the road. IMG_1823

The signage wasn’t easy to follow and was once again grateful for Roger’s help fixing my GPS. It would have been like a stranger navigating their way from San Souci to Manly.
At one point I entered a park above Rome and sat for a few minutes. Not really thinking about much, not emotional, just numb really. I’d planned to get to the Vatican at 1pm and it was around 12. Just a big zig zag down the hill on shitty uneven trail and navigating a few more streets and I was there.

IMG_1825
It was 35 degrees and I was just beginning to realise that I wouldn’t have to do this tomorrow… Or the next day… Or the….
There were people everywhere. Not one was interested in me. These were your typical tourists walking 4 abreast and complaining about the heat and looking miserable as though they were suffering more than anyone else. Oh how I haven’t missed first world problems.
It crossed my mind too many times what the people really suffering would think. You know, the ones not on a holiday.

IMG_1826
I entered “The City” and felt like an ant with so many people around. I took a photo to let everyone know I had arrived while waiting for my Testamonial (a stamp and a piece of paper) and waited in line with a bunch of people complaining about their tour…..
30 mins later I was out the door with my prize. IMG_1828

I sat down amidst the throngs and searched for a hotel on my phone.
My phone went crazy with so many texts, emails, FB messages.
The support from friends has been huge and a major comfort in the last 6 weeks. It hasn’t been easy or fun, but I did it. I’m not doing it again, but I’m glad I have. If you know what I mean….

image

11 Responses to “Last day to Rome”

  1. Renaroo June 12, 2014 at 1:50 am #

    Congratulations, Jane, just speechless here… You did it – so ridiculously awesome ❤

    • janetrumper June 12, 2014 at 3:11 am #

      …and I’m never doing it again 😉

      • Janet Walter-Kerr June 12, 2014 at 3:41 am #

        Good! Why would you want to, Am absolutely with you re comments on whingeing people who don’t know when they are well off. Rest well now. You are my hero. xxx

      • janetrumper June 12, 2014 at 4:30 am #

        Thanks Janet. xx being appreciative for what you have shouldn’t be that hard to grasp, should it!

  2. Carol Greenwood June 12, 2014 at 2:53 am #

    EXTRAORDINARY ACCOMPLISHMENT!!
    I admire you for this Jane.

    I was thinking that if people prayed for less important stuff like that promotion or a new nose , maybe they could pray for a cleaner City? It is just as feasible as any other nonsense requests.

    CX

    • janetrumper June 12, 2014 at 3:10 am #

      Thanks Carol for all your support and lovely comments. My time alone has left me with a desire to never have 1st world problems. Cleaning up the planet, or more importantly, not messing it up would be a great goal.

  3. Peter Walsh June 12, 2014 at 5:25 am #

    Brilliant! Well done Jane, congratulations! Absolutely wonderful, utmost respect. Peter W

  4. walkmag June 12, 2014 at 7:00 am #

    Yeah a happy Pellegrino photo Congratulations and thankyou for your enjoyable blogging

  5. Mark L June 12, 2014 at 8:46 am #

    am so proud of you and am honoured to know you and …your super family
    ..

  6. Debbie Jeffrey June 12, 2014 at 9:23 am #

    Congratulations, an amazing feat, I’m in total & absolute awe. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog but Jane, just one thing … I reckon we’ve heard more about your sleeping arrangements than your run. Lol. What’s that about ???!!!!

  7. lindywia June 12, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

    Look forward to giving you a big hug on your return to Aus. In case you are thinking of another trail how about http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Great_Himalaya_Trail. 4,500 k’s!

    Lxx

Leave a Reply

