Sucking toes and cleansing soles

8 Jun

 

IMG_1765      Sucking toes? I thought that went out with Fergie! Last time I posted, I was concerned about saying a prayer at the dinner table. Not getting my feet caressed and kissed by someone that had stolen Batman’s cape! Woah!! Still not sure what it was all about but we had to say “Amen” a bit…
Ok..
Dinner was great. Nobody spoke English.

IMG_1766

Sleeping quarters were me, two German girls and two Italian men.
Pretty much what I’m getting used to 😩
Lucky me got a bottom bunk and top was spare.IMG_1770
Next day was a late start as we all (again) had to eat breakfast together. With temps now hitting above 30, I wanted to get going but there it was… The plastic covered prayer (yes, mine in English) to give me guidance on my ” journey” (god I hate that word)IMG_1771

I found a resting place for my dear, faithful, worn and weary Hokas on the side of the trail.

IMG_1775
Plan was to get to Bolsena as the accommodation looked like there was enough to choose from.
Pretty day through Acquapendente. Temps really getting up there. Fine if I didn’t have my pack and at least a couple of litres of water.IMG_1777
Got to Bolsena and some Italian ” mob” had hijacked all the Pilgrim beds. Tried another place but there was no phone reception… Hot, tired, smelly and ready to call it a day.
Damn it… I put my pack back on and walked on out of the town. Thank God I have my tent.
Reason behind no post last night … If you don’t have walls, you don’t have power points. No phone, no GPS, no Garmin…
My solar powered USB charger is working well but only want to use it in an emergency. (like getting lost)
Crappy nights sleep with dogs barking all night. At least I was warm and it didn’t rain.

 

Sent from my iPhonePhotos

3 Responses to “Sucking toes and cleansing soles”

  1. Kate June 8, 2014 at 5:33 pm #

    Hi Jane – what beautiful looking countryside! I hope you enjoyed the toe suck…xK

    Date: Sat, 7 Jun 2014 21:29:38 +0000
    To: kserisier@hotmail.com

  2. moya June 8, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

    Hi Jane, i think you are an Australian treasure to take on all that you do. Always aiming to achieve and make it all possible. Just bloody fantastic Love Moya xx

    • janetrumper June 12, 2014 at 3:14 am #

      Thanks Moya! You’re pretty special. See you at work in a few weeks! J xox

Leave a Reply

