60 k Hoka happy day

6 Jun

IMG_1761Couldn’t have asked for a better day (maybe a hill or two less…)
Absolutely stunning. Dreaming of a bike or 6 with Lindy, Al and the boys.
Broke in my new Stinson Trail shoes delivered last night. 62 Kms and no worries. Even managed to get them wet πŸ˜’
The climb up to Radicofani was evil. You can see it for miles and know it’s a slog.

IMG_1762
Met a lovely girl climbing up. Her name was Elenor … I asked her if she had stayed at Ponte d’Arbia a couple of nights ago as her name was on my door last night! (She had!!)
They are making a doco. We arrived at our accommodation together but the God botherers wouldn’t let her and her friends stay there because they were “working” and not “religious pilgrims”!!! First time I’d seen that. Wouldn’t have known if she hadn’t told meπŸ™
So now I’m sitting on my own writing this and hoping to God they don’t ask me to say a prayer before dinner.. They told me dinner is at 8 and we all sit together and eat. First time I’ve done this .. wish me luck! Nobody speaks English, so I’ve prepared “hooly gooly round the table, fill ya belly while you’re able” Reckon I’m safe with that?image
Sent from my iPhone

9 Responses to “60 k Hoka happy day”

  1. Renaroo June 6, 2014 at 3:40 am #

    OMG – you are hilarious!

    Love my Stinson too. I ran R3 last October right out of the box.

    And, good luck at dinner πŸ™‚

  2. lindywia June 6, 2014 at 7:09 am #

    ‘working’ ?? please explain !?

    • janetrumper June 6, 2014 at 1:13 pm #

      Working as in they were making a documentary.

  3. Debbie Jeffrey June 6, 2014 at 3:07 pm #

    They wanted to do happy family dinner! Did you pray?

    • janetrumper June 8, 2014 at 1:45 am #

      They did. They didn’t ask me for my prayer…. πŸ‘Ό

  4. walkmag June 7, 2014 at 7:09 am #

    I remember walking up to Radicofani it was a hot day and the ascent seemed never ending πŸ™‚
    Have a faulous saturday think that is the correct day

    • janetrumper June 8, 2014 at 1:47 am #

      Weather is stinking hot. In the mid 30s today… 😑

  5. bcoram June 7, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

    Hi Jane, I have just read your blog from start to ‘current’ – what an awesome journey you’ve had so far. You’re so strong, so brave and so bloody funny. I already knew you to be an awesome chick but this Pilgrimage is off the scale. I can’t wait to see your beautiful smily face back in North Curly. Take care and good luck xx

    • janetrumper June 8, 2014 at 1:45 am #

      Thanks for your lovely message! See you on the beach soon… Or in the Club for a drink or two! Jane xx

Leave a Reply

