Monteriggioni to Monteroni d’Arbia

5 Jun

IMG_1725

I was defs the only one in the hostel last night without a penis. Instead of lying in bed listening to the walls vibrating from the snorers on the other side, I smartly got up early anticipating some chest beating and horrific early morning rituals from the cavemen.
Best day ever. Hope the photos do it justice. Apart from an hour of rain and a bit more mud it was pretty much the best day yet.  Thanks to Roger for all the help getting my GPS sorted at 3am this morning. Definitely worth a few hours less sleep to know that if I go off track (😜) I’ll be able to find the next way-mark.IMG_1729

Some great little villages …. and some vicious dogs. Shame this little Pilgrim refuge didn’t have a fence around it… and hot coffee… and pizza.

IMG_1732

 

So I got a bit off the track. I blame the big sign COOP. I was nearing Monteroni d’Arbia and thought, best get some food for the night as that’s where I was staying. Little did I know that it was 10 Kms north of the Monteroni d’Arbia where I was staying ( Ponte D’Arbia Localita)
So, with an extra couple of kgs of shopping, I hit Centro Cresti after 50 plus Kms.
What greeted me is worthy of it’s own post…

12 Responses to “Monteriggioni to Monteroni d’Arbia”

  1. Renaroo June 5, 2014 at 5:53 am #

    Ms. Small,

    In light of your solo FA trek to Rome, you have big enough kahunas and are well qualified to be “in the place.”

    Gorgeous pic…

    • Sam June 5, 2014 at 6:33 am #

      Hi Janey
      What an adventure! Brings back memories of Kate and I cycling between all those hill towns and eating the glorious food. See you soon.

      • janetrumper June 5, 2014 at 8:26 am #

        Looking forward to getting back Sam. Thanks for all you are doing back home. xox

    • janetrumper June 5, 2014 at 8:19 am #

      Can’t wait to get home to my besties. xxx

    • janetrumper June 5, 2014 at 8:21 am #

      Nothing big about me right now! Looking forward to getting home and getting back to normality!

    • janetrumper June 5, 2014 at 8:30 am #

      Another 5 days and I’ll be in an even better place!

  2. Carmel Howard June 5, 2014 at 6:24 am #

    Hey Jane, Glad to see you are travelling in style. Ran into Pat Farmer today who is just back from his Peace Run in the Middle East. He said to wish you all the best and he seemed so delighted to hear about what you’re doing. I told him you love ticks. Take care. Carmel H. Xx

    • janetrumper June 5, 2014 at 8:28 am #

      Hope to catch up with him when I get back, but really looking forward to a dip at North Curly!

  3. lindywia June 5, 2014 at 8:00 am #

    yep, ‘Renaroo’ you took the words right out of my mouth!

  4. lindywia June 5, 2014 at 8:01 am #

    PS Janie what you have in place of a penis is FAR MORE POWERFUL on so many levels. Embrace it sister 🙂

  5. Alexandra Wileman June 5, 2014 at 9:29 am #

    Hi Janie, Hope the body is still faring well, only a few hundred Kms to go! Sounds like the beautiful scenery is carrying you along which is helpful!! Alex xx,

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Thursday, 5 June 2014 4:05 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Monteriggioni to Monteroni d’Arbia

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “I was defs the only one in the place without a penis. Instead of lying in bed listening to the walls vibrating from the snorers on the other side, I smartly got up early anticipating some chest beating and horrific early morning rituals from the cavemen. “

    • janetrumper June 6, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

      Loving all your comments Al. Can’t wait to catch up over a vino ..

Leave a Reply

