Naked men and flesh eating insects

4 Jun

 

IMG_1727

Holy CRAP!
Did I do the right thing or what??? I’ve just come into the hostel in Monteriggioni after having dinner with Roger (well he’s the only one up at 2 am to chat with on FB…) and there are naked men all over the place! Well, 3 of them.. All in a state of undress. Jesus Christ, put some clothes on! I splashed out and paid for my own room, otherwise I’d have to sleep with these sleeze buckets. I know I work with naked bodies everyday but thank God they are unconscious!

IMG_1721 IMG_1723Last night, in Gambassi Terme  .. I turned off the light after removing 3 ticks and was immediately a food source for the next needy soul. The damn mozzies ate me alive. Thought I’d try sticking toilet paper in my ears so I didn’t have to listen to them but every time they landed was like touchdown on a helipad. The sheets this morning told the homicidal axe maniac bloody story.
Beautiful Tuscany again today. San Gimignano, Colle di Val d’Elsa and now in Monteriggioni.
My Garmin Origin has no waypoint memory left, so I am now without it to point me in the right direction. Have waypoints in my phone, so lets hope I don’t get lost with another technology challenge.
Tomorrow I go through Sienna and hope to finish in Monteroni d’Arbia. Should be 50kms but my Garmin always ends up saying I’ve done more (whether I get lost or not) Weather is hitting high 20’s but defs feels warmer.image
Tonight was the first night EVER that I have eaten in a restaurant alone. Well, technically I was having a conversation with Stinky via FB messaging the whole time, so I really wasn’t alone. The other diners were a little concerned at how many times I looked like I was choking ( if you know Roger, you’ll know why) One glass of crap Italian wine and a pizza (no, I couldn’t finish it but I’ll have it for breakfast)
I’m now holed up in my room waiting for the shit to settle on the fan before I go to the bathroom, clean my teeth and lock my door.
…and it’s raining 😒

4 Responses to “Naked men and flesh eating insects”

  1. Renaroo June 4, 2014 at 4:56 am #

    Ugh, darn mosquitoes! I am sure the good Lord created them for some noble purposes, but I would nuke them if I could! However, I am surprised that the 3 naked baits didn’t divert them away.

    You must be very sweet!

    Blessings to you on your journey, especially through Sienna.

  2. walkmag June 4, 2014 at 8:59 am #

    Good morning JT have a great day love your blog

  3. Doug Boyd June 4, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    Jane, I’ve just stumbled across your blog quite late in the piece…heard about your effort from Sebastian W and am wonderfully in awe. What a beautiful piece of work and an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

