Postcard from Tuscany

3 Jun

imagePicture postcard day. It’s getting pretty warm now and I’m trying to slow down the days and enjoy some of the towns. San Miniato was the greatest. Of course it was way up a hill but I’m used to that. Bought the best Fragola and Limon gelato and schmoozed with the locals. It was a public holiday (1948 Republic holiday) so was carrying heaps of food and water incase everything was shut. In hind sight, not necessary…
So now I’m in Gambasse Terme eating like a possessed pig and trying to get a bit of my body back. I look ridiculous. Never did I think I’d be dipping breadsticks into the olive oil from a tin of salmon to try to beef up a bit!
Anyone that’s ever said “I’ve tried everything… I just can’t seem to lose the weight” How about you move. A lot. Every day. And stop eating crap.
Excuses for anything are just the cheap, easy way out of achieving a goal.
Was that a bit harsh? Nah, didn’t think so. 😉
De ticked myself again this afternoon .. Wondering about a spot on my back.. Tick or rub from my pack? Wonder if Advantix works on people?
Trying to stay focused on doing 50 Kms a day. The “nearly there” comments from you guys sure beat saying nothing. Really love all the messages I’ve received. Getting one today from the French dude that co founded Hoka absolutely made my day.

9 Responses to “Postcard from Tuscany”

  1. Kerrie Williamson June 3, 2014 at 7:14 am #

    you are an amazing lady, I wish I could say I had the courage and tenacity that you have. You are my inspiration and I am loving your blog. I am sorry you have had some really hard days, I have felt for you and admired you will to keep going. Stay strong. Kerrie

  2. Carol Greenwood June 3, 2014 at 7:19 am #

    Jane, a wee bit of vaseline rubbed on the skin will smother a tic so it pops out , usually!
    Great posts, I look forward to them each day.

  3. lindywia June 3, 2014 at 7:37 am #

    Another way to remove ticks is to smother it with liquid soap
    http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/bugs/a/Tick-Removal-Liquid-Soap.htm

    ALSO- spray yourself with AEROGUARD or something similar.

    Lxx

  4. Renaroo June 3, 2014 at 8:30 am #

    Funny, you are funny in a very good way. Love your charming observations and outlook.

    Tell your Hoka dude that I’ll be wearing Hokas at Western States in a few weeks.

    Can’t wait to read your book 🙂

  5. Alexandra Wileman June 3, 2014 at 11:08 am #

    HI Janie, Your blogs in Italy sound so uplifting. So glad to hear you can slow down to enjoy the villages and the food!!!! Get some yummy cheese into you! Are you running along with any other pilgrims like the ones you shared a dorm with? Pete coming for dinner this week so we will feed him up and pretend it’s you!! Can’t wait to see your gorgeous smiling face soon. Alex xx

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Tuesday, 3 June 2014 7:31 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Postcard from Tuscany

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “Picture postcard day. It’s getting pretty warm now and I’m trying to slow down the days and enjoy some of the towns. San Miniato was the greatest. Of course it was way up a hill but I’m used to that. Bought the best Fragola and Limon gelato and schmoozed “

  6. Philippa Sawyer June 3, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

    Hi Jane today is my last day of the walk across England but I feel dwarfed by your efforts. I think of you every day and how amazing you are to be so motivated. Stay safe and see you back in Oz. philippa

  7. Greg Wallace June 3, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

    Bring it on how Jane. Savour the last days of your epic effort, and your words of motivation aren’t harsh at all…..maybe if you had used the f…. Word abit! Life sounds pretty good for a pilgrim

  8. Mindy Carr June 7, 2014 at 8:40 am #

    Dearest Janie, You know how useless I am with these forms of communications, but sighting all your posts has even prompted me to find out how to send you a message of wonder, amazement and respect! Wow, nothing else to say but travel safely and Bear Cottage will no doubt be better of for all your journeyings. Mindyxx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • janetrumper June 12, 2014 at 3:16 am #

      Thanks Mindy!
      Catch up dinner when I get back!
      Janie xox

Leave a Reply

