Italy is not flat.

30 May

IMG_1646 View from my room last night… IMG_1650  Well not today it wasn’t. Fidenza to Cassio was the plan. 55kms if I didn’t get lost. From the climb out of Fidenza I knew it wasn’t going to be a flat day … Add at least 6 river/ creek crossings and I’ve started to think about my feet for the first time in over 1,500 kms.
My pack feels better, my muscles are great. Nothing worse than some stupid foot issue because they are wet all day. Will be vigilant in keeping them healthy.

IMG_1649
Snakes? These little things have to be harmless? I saw one warming itself up on the road before I then meandered into grass as tall as me. Always the “safety ranger” I was super careful and spotted two more.. before I stepped on them. I was talking out loud like Croc Dundee… ” that’s not a snake… You ain’t seen a snake till you’ve seen an oxyuranus” aka Inland taipan. Big and deadly in the Simpson Desert. No idea what sort of snakes they were but wasn’t going to take pics for my reptile lover friend Paul to identify.
Getting to Cassio meant another Pilgrim haunt to stay in.
I arrived to find the place not answering their door. I rang the phone number and had the lady on the other end telling me “no”…

IMG_1655
Damn it. Maybe I should just pitch my tent? I was muddy and filthy from the water crossings and really needed to wash my feet. I sat down at a park bench and thought of my options… and how I will never not appreciate a roof over my head.. Ever again.
I could make it sound really dramatic … But. A guy drove up and took me to the front door of the Ostello di Cassio and showed me in!! 2 sets of bunks and bathroom all to myself☺

IMG_1654
There’s a bed reserved for Al and Lindy and SJ and Suse. Then you won’t have to message me and we can talk all night… eat chocolate and drink wine. Typical girly room. Sal and Rose are in my bed…😘

Can’t upload photos.. Damn iPhone/ Internet

2 Responses to “Italy is not flat.”

  1. walkmag May 30, 2014 at 6:56 am #

    Hi have u sent the tent home yet ? You probably wont need it any longer
    Cheers mag

  2. Alexandra Wileman May 30, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    Buon Giorno , Come Stai?,

    Yeah a bed for the Pilgrim !!! Who was that woman saying no to you? How could she when she took a look at you? Hows the food? Haven’t heard much about the food? I hope you are eating enough not just drinking!!!!!! Mangare ,Mangare !!!!! I saw a picture of you and you are looking a little boney. I want you to have a gelato or 3 especially when you get to Roma .

    Lots love Alex xxxx Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Friday, 30 May 2014 4:23 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Italy is not flat.

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “Well not today it wasn’t. Fidenza to Cassio was the plan. 55kms if I didn’t get lost. From the climb out of Fidenza I knew it wasn’t going to be a flat day … Add at least 6 river/ creek crossings and I’ve started to think about my feet for the first tim”

Leave a Reply

