65kms of everything. Some good, some not so.

28 May

 

imageI know you guys don’t want any rainbows and puppy dog posts… and believe me, there aren’t any out here.
I checked the local weather before I ventured out today. No rain. Yippee. Opened the door and it’s pissing down.Out came my jacket and off I went. Today was going to be a 65km day. Get on it Trumper.
Fast forward 2 hours and off comes the jacket. Just in time to use it like a matador to some vicious dog that decided to attack. Bastard took a bite out of my Montane! Better off than a bite out of me. These European dogs are angry! Scared the crap out of me but pretty happy with how angry and aggressive I can sound.😳 I’m now carrying a stick.

IMG_1642
Between the dogs and some of the roads the trail puts me on this is no “safe and fun” trip. Words that best belong on a box of condoms.
There was a fair amount of mud today, there were also three river/creek crossings to wash my shoes, socks and legs.

IMG_1640

With no guide book to follow now, I’m not prepared for the water crossings which can sometimes be a good thing. I just need to stop with the expletives each time I get so pleasantly surprised.
So, I’m 49 Kms into my day and I come across a house with a pilgrim on its letterbox. Before I know it, the owner comes over and asks if I need anything. Would I like a coffee? Hell yeah!
His name is Massimo. A teacher of Italian, History and Geography to Middle school kids… and great at coffee. So warm and hospitable. The Italians really are a friendly bunch.

IMG_1644
I got back on the trail to get to Fidenza to find Frati Minori Cappuccini. What a disaster. Where the hell was Via San Francesco??? I must have looked like something out of the Amazing Race. I was stopping cars to ask directions and holding up traffic, hoping that they didn’t close their doors to Pilgrims by 5 pm. Fidenza isn’t a tiny town… I worked that one out today. I finally found it, buzzed the big fella and nothing. Nothing. After about 5 mins I look up at the sign written in 5 languages and see some English. Pilgrims will only be accepted between 6:30 and 7 pm. So much for rushing. So with backpack still embedded into my back, off I go to find some food.
Fast forward a few hours and I’m showered, fed and ready for bed.

4 Responses to “65kms of everything. Some good, some not so.”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 28, 2014 at 7:32 am #

    Hi Janie That was a lovely day ! The italians sound great and I could taste the coffee you were describing! God food and drinks must taste so good when challenging in the elements everyday like you do. Enjoy !!! Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Wednesday, 28 May 2014 5:43 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] 65kms of everything. Some good, some not so.

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “I know you guys don’t want any rainbows and puppy dog posts… and believe me, there aren’t any out here. I checked the local weather before I ventured out today. No rain. Yippee. Opened the door and it’s pissing down.Out came my jacket and off I went. T”

  2. Peter May 28, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    “Safe and fun.” Love it, and certainly better on a box of condoms than “Hard, wet, and muddy.”

    Keep at it Jan — Your posts are great kick in the ass for me every day… 😉

    • Peter May 28, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

      Sorry –> JANE — Wife = Jan and autocorrect tries to keep me on the straight and narrow!

      • janetrumper June 2, 2014 at 5:21 am #

        Better to keep wife happy than me… Jan is my mother’s name and I’d rather be called Jane.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

