Bad room, bad day.

26 May

imageI’m stopped for the night in Santa Cristina. Defs the worst Pilgrim accommodation I’ve stayed in but I’m still happy to be here. Thank the good Lord Jesus that I have it all to myself. The couple and their two dogs that were booked into the same room have now decided to move on (geeze, I must really smell) I waited down at the bar/common room for confirmation that I could stay. With no conversation in English or Italian, I managed to get upstairs. No key, no bathroom or shower…. a bed. That’s good enough for a desperado….
My back was suffering big time today. I’d done some tweaking of my pack (it is the tightest/smallest it can be) as I have two pressure areas … Defs not from lying in a bed with no pressure area care.. Thanks nurses πŸ˜‰ sacral and thoracic spine. The lack of fat on my body isn’t helping. Reckon I’ve hit the 40 something Kgs…
Anyhooo.. I was cursing and complaining to nobody as I struggled with what seemed like an extra 20 kgs in my pack, when I realised that I should shove as much as I can into my belly to lighten the load. This included a tin of tuna and some liquid refreshment.
The liquid was something I invested in a few nights ago. For 2 Euros I got me a cheap white wine…. 1 litre job. Moral of story is if I can’t chug it down, toss it! When the hell did I become so soft… I reckon it tasted like the Club Med wine that never gives you head spins, even after a couple of litres. So after two nights with the damn thing I was still carrying it on day three. Bugger that. Tin of tuna and 200 mls wine at midday. πŸΈπŸ‡
If I can find a post office open tomorrow, I’m sending stuff home. The weight of my pack is pissing me off. My legs feel fab, never felt a muscle issue. Ankle is not great but won’t stop me walking (running is an issue..)
Feet have been perfect in Injinjis and Hokas. So, so lucky.
Am I glad I’m here? Not really. Miss my family and friends and wish I had company… But. One day soon, I’ll be happy to say glad I’ve done it.

5 Responses to “Bad room, bad day.”

  1. Renaroo May 26, 2014 at 5:23 am #

    Wish I could join the misery πŸ™‚

  2. lindywia May 26, 2014 at 8:07 am #

    just keep visualising drink poos on yr deck in the not too distant future with your besties πŸ˜ƒ
    Do you have any GU [or similar] ? its nectar of the gods for calorie deprived pilgrims

  3. lindywia May 26, 2014 at 8:08 am #

    correction “DRINKY POOS” !!

  4. Dan May 26, 2014 at 8:54 am #

    Hey Jane, I had a saying on a run a few years ago. The physical and emotional pain will go away when you come home but quitting will last forever. Think of all the people your helping by doing this. You’ll be done before you know it. Cheers, Dan

  5. Frankie & Monty May 26, 2014 at 11:13 am #

    Following you and glad you can laugh…still. Bet there are loads of stories to tell;) stay safe!

Leave a Reply

