I’m out. Done. Pulling the pin.

23 May

imageIt has been a tough day.
All was good in the world when I got going this morning but the day went totally pair shaped when I had to wade through a river and have torrential rain for most of the day.
Getting to Italy is good enough. Roughly 1200 Kms done and about 900 more to Rome.
Being wet and lonely sucks.
Not only does your guide book turn into paper mΓ’chΓ© but you miss markers and my feet have gone totally white from being wet all day. Sucks.
Another issue is my ankle that has been strapped since day 6.
…. And emails about my Dad.
So best call it a day and wimp out.
So all you people with a smirk on your face hoping that I’d fail….
Get off your high horse, stop being so negative. Go and do something good in the world. ‘Cause what I just wrote is bullshit.

19 Responses to “I’m out. Done. Pulling the pin.”

  1. Peter Walsh May 23, 2014 at 4:02 am #

    Jane, you lifted me on the road to Amettes, and it was great to share your company and positive attitude. Respect, and good luck to you!

    Pete W

    • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 1:33 am #

      Where are you Peter? I’m in Gropello Cairoli about 18 Kms before Pavia. Keep in touch! Jx

      • Peter Walsh May 25, 2014 at 5:05 am #

        I’m back home with a broken little toe…wimped out, worst excuse ever! Love reading your blog and am planning to make a better attempt at the trip next year. Take care and enjoy yourself, Peter

      • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 7:28 am #

        So sorry to hear that. Nothing worse than seeing you limping so early in your trip 😦
        I wish you well. Keep in touch. xox

  2. peppercornhill May 23, 2014 at 5:28 am #

    Love you to bits, and it never was in doubt, but you will pay for that email title …☺

    • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 1:30 am #

      OMG…. You love me??? πŸ˜‰
      Catch you when I get back… But not till I’ve finished what I started:) xx

  3. Running Angel May 23, 2014 at 6:22 am #

    You are amazing, I can’t understand why anyone would want you to fail xx

  4. walkmag May 23, 2014 at 7:36 am #

    Amazing is totally over used when describing people, but for you it is totally appropriate and deserved.
    Cannot figure out if this is the end for now but thankyou for sharing
    melb ,australia

  5. Dan May 23, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Your doing a fantastic job Jane!! The pain is only temporary. Well done!! Your a Champion no matter how far you’ve gone. It’s better to have tried and failed than to have failed to try:)

  6. Peter Flavel May 23, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Bloody hell, I started reading and thought broken legs and arms maybe, but wet feet, Nah! Just remember Jane, if it is to BE it is up to ME.

    • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 7:29 am #

      I’m not giving up till Rome, Peter. J x

  7. Renaroo May 23, 2014 at 10:12 am #

    What an amazing adventure. Thank you so much for sharing your highs, lows and the beauty of nature and of yourself.

    Congratulations for following your dreams and the courage to take us armchair adventurers along.

    Much respect and love.

    • Dan May 23, 2014 at 10:58 am #

      Hi Jane, Tania here, Dan’s wife,
      Sorry to use the vernacular of a 12yr old girl but I think you are an absolute AWESOME LEGEND!!!
      And you totally made my day. :)

      • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 7:31 am #

        Thanks. You guys keep me moving with your comments. xxx

    • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 7:30 am #

      More to come! πŸ™‚

  8. Mike Tresidder May 23, 2014 at 11:06 am #

    Hey mate. Not sure if you can get it there but I used Bepanthin Cream (for baby’s bums) on my feet every night when walking Kokoda and it worked a treat. Stay safe. xx

    • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 1:28 am #

      Got special goo… I know where that tube of yours has been πŸ˜‰

      • Mike Tresidder May 26, 2014 at 11:37 am #

        I’ll save some for you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

