Getting back down….

21 May

imageThe tricky bit after getting to the top of Switzerland and staying in the hospice up at the Grand Saint Bernard Pass, was getting down into Italy.
After breakfast of stale bread and jam, Heinz and I ventured out in search of a road that was hidden in snow…..
There was our friend Armind (Swiss)in snow shoes, Heinz (German)had his poles…. and I had my Hokas. All fair 😉

Jane GD St Bernard cont
The road was NOT clear which made for a tricky and very slow decent. To have done this on my own would have been stupid. To do it as the Tri nations was ok.

IMG_1585
The first couple of kilometres took over an hour… Then it was another 7 Kms on the Garmin to get down to the tree line.
After that I warmed up and looked forward to being able to see some sort of view.

IMG_1592
I spent most of the day with Heinz but we managed to lose each other and I ventured out again on my own. It had been the perfect time to find him and do the spooky stuff together. We will stay in touch. A super guy. Really appreciated his company.

IMG_1593
As I near Aoasta, I realise my accommodation selection is limited. I had emailed a place at Nus, but the email had bounced back. A woman came up beside me as I was checking choices in my book and wouldn’t leave me alone. She asked if I was a pilgrim (which sort of sounds hypocritical if I say yes) and didn’t leave my side for an hour. She had us in the Tourist info dialling monasteries until I was locked up with Jesus on a cross over my bed. Do I really look like I need help? (notice lack of selfies… I probs do…)

2 Responses to “Getting back down….”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 21, 2014 at 8:01 am #

    Hi Janie

    OMG thank goodness you found Heinz to go through all that snow and danger together. What a great guy he sounds. You have conquered such incredible conditions and have had such an unforgettable time overcoming all odds Janie! Italia finally!!!! Not long to go now ! A Few weeks?

    Alex xx

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Wednesday, 21 May 2014 3:58 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Getting back downŠ.

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “The tricky bit after getting to the top of Switzerland and staying in the hospice up at the Grand Saint Bernard Pass, was getting down into Italy. After breakfast of stale bread and jam, Heinz and I ventured out in search of a road that was hidden in sno”

    • janetrumper May 25, 2014 at 1:36 am #

      I miss you Al. Thanks for your messages. Love you to bits xxx

Leave a Reply

