On top of the world

20 May

imageMy new bestie, Heinz (30 something, bald, 6ft something German) decided he might find it possible to go further than Bourg-Saint-Pierre. I was ecstatic as I planned to get to the top today and venture into Italy tomorrow. The road up over the pass was still closed to cars and I was a little concerned that I’d do something stupid (moi?) and try to get through the snow alone with no track markings.
It was only supposed to be a 26km day with stupid elevation of over 2 Kms … It ended up being much further than that as we had to divert from the planned route due to snow.
There were stages that scared the crap out of me (again going on tracks with sheer drops down to rivers) but nothing prepared me for the final ascent.
As we ventured to the closed section of road that had cars parked off to the sides, I found myself dwarfed (stop laughing.. I am over 5 feet..) by the snow piled up on the sides of the road ( well over 6 metres in spots)

IMG_1591
Even that didn’t prepare me for the last 500 metres to Col-Grand-Saint-Bernard. There was a snow plough trying to clear some road. He waved us through to an uncleared section that was like a ski slope…no road to be seen. We could see the buildings 200 metres away but had to slide down 50 metres on my arse to get to the road! Oh thank God there was no video evidence. If I’d made a bit of an error, I would be 100’s of metres below. Thankful for Hokas. They need to reinvent the snow shoe. 😊

IMG_1588
There is a hospice there that takes in Pilgrims. (right now they have all goofed of to Mass)
I, on the other hand are spending quality time communicating with my dear brethren back home😇

5 Responses to “On top of the world”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 20, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    We love the sound of your new bestie. So glad you weren’t alone tackling the snow! Amazing photo! Be careful, hopefully you have passed the really treacherous bit.

    Best Regards,

    Alex xx

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Tuesday, 20 May 2014 2:04 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] On top of the world

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “My new bestie, Heinz (30 something, bald, 6ft something German) decided he might find it possible to go further than Bourg-Saint-Pierre. I was ecstatic as I planned to get to the top today and venture into Italy tomorrow. The road up over the pass was sti”

  2. Merry May 20, 2014 at 11:15 am #

    Whilst I feel bad for your descent au derrière – I am certainly enjoying living your journey through your blog! What a mundane life I lead….enjoy your night – hope you had a change of clothes!!! xx

  3. Rex May 20, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

    Hi Jane, sounds like you’re having a (snow)ball. Glad to see you survived yesterday and didn’t get frozen today. I’m sure the peanuts did the trick. I see the rip is bring you closer to holiness & serenity hehe. Gambate! Rex

  4. kay haarsma May 20, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

    Exciting – enjoy reading the right ups

Leave a Reply

