I could have died today…….

19 May

IMG_1579If I ever read that the trail is in places deemed unsafe by some, and incredibly dangerous, I will take the easy option and not think I’m a tough ultra runner that enjoys heights and cliffs and getting down on all fours praying to Allah….
I left my bed with Jesus hanging over it, had the ritual bread and coffee and ventured out to find a few “hills”. Not TNF hills in the Blue Mountains…. Big ones.
As I was only doing just over 40 Kms today to get to Orsieres, I decided to follow the tough guy course in the book. Big mistake with an “ef”. Only few people have seen me in my cryptonite moments. Sally Law on the Shotover mountains and my best buddies Lindy and Alex and our worse halves going up Mt Gower.
This was worse. Maybe because I was alone (but you wouldn’t think so with all the talking I was doing) One slip up and I was dead. Road kill in the river 100’s of metres below.
Seriously WTF was I thinking?
If there are chains attached to cliffs, I, should NOT be there.
1 km took me about 45 mins. I took a photo but it doesn’t do it justice as I couldn’t take a shot of the worst bit ( it would have tipped me over the edge…)
Anyhoo… I’m alive 😊

IMG_1578
Made it in to Orsieres by early afternoon and stumbled upon a German guy named Heinz sitting outside the church. He immediately recognised me as a pilgrim and showed me the cottage that the Parish Priest opens for us. We chatted and went to the only place open (Sunday)for a glass of wine. Heinz ate a huge meal while I ate the free peanuts….
There was no point going any further today as it’s another 25 Kms to the top with a 2,000 metre elevation climb…. Now that sounds like fun. Wonder who’ll carry this friggen pack?

5 Responses to “I could have died today…….”

  1. Kerrie Williamson May 19, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

    Dear Jane, I am enjoying your adventure and your regular blog, I like that you are keeping it simple but I almost feel like i am travelling with you. i did however shed a tear when I read about Tim and I hope you are ok. Good luck with the rest of your adventure and I look forward to reading till the end.
    Kerrie

  2. Merry Hughes May 19, 2014 at 3:28 pm #

    Oh Janie – I know you are one tough cookie…..I am hoping one sensible cookie too!!! Be safe on your journey and please eat more than the free peanuts!!!! Steady as you go girl……xxx

  3. otisr May 19, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

    You are crazy. But it sounds magic. I was in Switzerland in 85, and stayed at Bourg St Maurice – I recognise some names. Have fun!!

  4. Alexandra Wileman May 19, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    Hi Janie,

    Lucky you had Lord Howe training for heights previously. Wow sounds very scary. So glad you are safe! Make sure you try some Raclette when in Switzerland. Melted cheese dish like fondue. Not sure if it has negative affects though when running ti off the next day! Take care Alex

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Monday, 19 May 2014 1:53 PM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] I could have died today…….

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “If I ever read that the trail is in places deemed unsafe by some, and incredibly dangerous, I will take the easy option and not think I’m a tough ultra runner that enjoys heights and cliffs and getting down on all fours praying to Allah…. I left my bed”

  5. Renaroo May 19, 2014 at 8:56 pm #

    Holy crapola! Glad you are safe, we will continue to keep you in our prayers and at mass.

    Grand St. Bernard is a lovely spot to rest.

    Peace 💛

Leave a Reply

