Lausanne and the climb up to Saint Maurice

19 May

imageI brushed myself off, slapped myself in the face and packed up my tent after a very windy night in Cully, 10 kms further around the lake from Lausanne. Fussed and fumbled through supermarkets in Vevey, bank in Montreux and then up to Saint Maurice. I had emailed the Abbey last night requesting a bed and I found out around lunch time that I had to be there by 5 pm. A bit of hot footing to get up there after (yes, again) getting on the wrong path and heading east instead of south. Wondering what sort of path my spot tracker will show…👀🙈

IMG_1577
Weather was perfect. Got hot later in the day, but the wind had died down and the Lake looked spectacular. Unlike France, everything is open and alive. Will see what Sunday brings… still carrying a days worth of food and water just incase, especially as I’m headed up into the mountains. The next couple of days may be slow going.
Reached Saint Maurice in time and was shown to my room by a Priest ( no, I didn’t tip him) Best accommodation out there for 30 Swiss francs. My reward for spending the last 2 nights in my tent.

IMG_1575
Plan after breakfast is to find a few “hills” 🙈 and take two days to get to the Grand St Bernard Pass. It’s still closed to cars, so may not be able to get through to Italy.
Pray for me will ya all my God bothering friends?

2 Responses to “Lausanne and the climb up to Saint Maurice”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 19, 2014 at 8:04 am #

    Hi Janie, Switzerland sounds magnificent. I hope you can stop to smell the edelweiss a little Alex x Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Monday, 19 May 2014 1:52 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] 765

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “I brushed myself off, slapped myself in the face and packed up my tent after a very windy night in Cully, 10 kms further around the lake from Lausanne. Fussed and fumbled through supermarkets in Vevey, bank in Montreux and then up to Saint Maurice. I had “

  2. Kate Serisier May 19, 2014 at 9:49 am #

    Hi Jane,
    What a beautiful picture – and a gorgeous part of the world…take care of yourself and we’ll keep you informed of the (hopeful) news here…xxxx Kate

Leave a Reply

