Besancon!

15 May

IMG_1540I left my playground in Dampierre, leaving behind the Harry Potter poster and all the fluffy toys.
Plan today was to try and get as close to Besancon as possible.
The weather was shocking. Thunderstorms, mud and misery. I spent the whole day looking for a shop but NOT ONE was open. Luckily I had 2 litres water, a banana, half a baguette, almonds, cheese and a twix. Not one shop open for over 60 Kms.
I’d been in touch with an English guy that lives not far from Besancon who takes pilgrims in for the night and had sent some shoes to him before leaving Sydney. If I could get 67 Kms done, I’d meet him in the city. So there we met. Me looking my finest. Wet, shivering cold and pretty hungry.
He (Francis) took me on a bit of a tour (showed me how tough the climb was going to be in the morning…) and then back to his wonderful cottage in Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne, Doubs.

IMG_1556
Best hot shower!!! Beer, spaghetti bog and wine. I made the decision in the shower as I warmed up that I may just stay tomorrow night too seeing it had been offered.
Best nights sleep.

2 Responses to “Besancon!”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 15, 2014 at 9:56 am #

    Hi Janie, Aaaahhhhh! Some luxury at last ! A couple of nights at this place sounds just what you need. Alex x Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Thursday, 15 May 2014 3:14 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Besancon!

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “I left my playground in Dampierre, leaving behind the Harry Potter poster and all the fluffy toys. Plan today was to try and get as close to Besancon as possible. The weather was shocking. Thunderstorms, mud and misery. I spent the whole day looking for”

  2. Barb Cooper May 15, 2014 at 10:03 am #

    So Jane I’m sitting in theatre reading your blog to all my fellow mates, and we all are glad we’re at work today and not in Europe in the mud and thunder. Your blog could become part of the daily entertainment at the day surgery. Hope the new shoes are comfy.x Barb Cooper

    >

Leave a Reply

