Hokas, one pair = Faith

13 May

IMG_1534    How many of you runners out there would leave on a trip to run 2,000 kms with one pair of shoes? (Well I do have a pair of ballet flats…)
I’m 700 plus Kms into this and I’m pretty happy with my feet. One pair of Kailua trail. Thank you Mr Hoka.
In the next few days I’m meeting a “Pilgrim host” that I sent another pair of Hokas to. I don’t need them yet but I don’t have the luxury of opening my cupboard when I want to. Carry them both? Decisions… Mud in Switzerland might make it nice to have a spare? But there’s been mud everywhere. Less to carry is best…..

Stopping in Langres last night was probably one of the best decisions of the week. I dried everything out and lay horizontal in a locked room. Those tent openings just don’t give you that peace of mind.
Reaching over to my phone at 5 am to check the weather was also rewarding. A balmy 5 degrees and rain “not forecast” till 4pm..??
Saw another bambi and didn’t get lost all day. I did start talking to nobody when it started to rain. “You can wait till 4 pm!” Nup. There you go again, he wasn’t listening.
I’d emailed a place in Dampierre called Croq’Loisirs for a bed.

IMG_1537

No idea what it was but they were obliging so that’s where I went. I was shown a bed and asked the price…€5 … With shower.. For the night???
It’s actually a child care centre (mental note to self…. Get out early!!!)

IMG_1535
So I’m all alone locked up in a child care facility…..Playing hard all night.

IMG_1536..Random, but I’ll take it.

5 Responses to “Hokas, one pair = Faith”

  1. Kate Harris May 13, 2014 at 11:26 am #

    Hi Jane

    Just wanted to say hi from Manly! I am reading your blog with great interest and admiration for your determination. The spotwaller is amazing you are nearly in Switzerland, real showers and beds must feel amazing after a day on the road. The tent thing sounds unappealing from here 🙂 Last year Mike and I walked the Nakasendo Way in Japan for 2weeks and I know how much I looked forward to the Onsens in the evening. Can’t imagine how weary you must be at the end of a day running. Will send good weather vibes over there for you.

    Sending you lots of love from all the Harris family, Dad and I are going to Japan onFriday for8 days should be great. I will never forget how thankful we were when you looked after mum before her operation 7 years ago, you have a huge heart. Take care.

    Xx Kate

    Best regards Kate Harris

    • janetrumper May 19, 2014 at 1:07 am #

      Thanks Kate! Be nice to catch up when I’m back. xx

  2. Roger Hanney May 13, 2014 at 11:50 am #

    I go to Japan for a few weeks and this happens – you’re running 2200km in trail shoes? What are you, Jane Meltzer?? 🙂 Go hard Janey. When you find God, tell her to get his act together. There’s crazy stuff going on down here and somebody put a bunch of goofballs in charge. Keep strong – we’re cheering! x

  3. Alexandra Wileman May 13, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    Hi Janie , You sounds like that secure sleep in the child care centre has recharged your batteries. I had a feeble shuffle along manly beach and back and thought of you OMG don’t know how you churn out all those Kms. Will pray for good weather for you.!!

    Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Tuesday, 13 May 2014 5:19 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Hokas, one pair = Faith

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “How many of you runners out there would leave on a trip to run 2,000 kms with one pair of shoes? (Well I do have a pair of ballet flats…) I’m 700 plus Kms into this and I’m pretty happy with my feet. One pair of Kailua trail. Thank you Mr Hoka. In the”

  4. lindywia May 14, 2014 at 9:10 am #

    Janey – suggestion re shoes, change them over, leave ‘old ones’ with the guy , keep his details and find another place he can forward them to just in case you need them again. don’t try to squeeze them in to that puny pack!
    Just thought .

    Love you lots

    Lxx

Leave a Reply

