Beware of bambis named “rappel”

11 May

IMG_1519I woke this morning with joy in my heart…πŸ˜‡
Bar sur Aube is definitely the most beautiful spot so far. I left the city taking photos and loving where I was. The next few villages also scenic. Everything seems to be “a vendre” and shut up.

IMG_1528

IMG_1527
Thoughtful today. I got into a deep moment. I’d been texting a mate going through tough times back in Sydney when I couldn’t sleep last night. She’s always the smiley one.
Got me thinking.
Nobody made me do this. Maybe it’s not the way I expected.. Well it’s defs not the way I expected.. But. I’m doing it. I’m not really enjoying it yet. Plenty of reasons for that but I’ve got at least another month to tell you all about that.
Anyhoo.. My friend Janice has just had a big op to get some shit cancer cut out of her bones ( secondary from thyroid) now tell me all you God loving friends… You say God created this wonderful planet and then targets some kids and gives them cancer, gives Janice cancer when all she wants is to have babies and live in domestic bliss? I don’t get it, never will.
So , where were we? Ok. The day started nicely thank you… Definitely the most picturesque morning I’ve had… That’s until the shit hit the fan and I spent 3 hours LOST!!

How can a track looking like this….

IMG_1529…end up looking like this…

IMG_1531
Today was going to be a nice easy 50kms. I reckon every day I add about 20% distance on with being lost. I hate the book I’m following and will gladly burn it in Switzerland. A 6 km leg that tells you to do 2 km to somewhere, 3.5 km to get to a turn and just do 4 more ks and you’ll be at the next town does not add up to 6! Also, she adds the distances you’re doing….did you know 458 plus 9 equals 457? No wonder I’m lost.
So I’m now in my tent.,Was going to pitch it a few hours ago in the forest where I was walking round in circles, but I was worried that some vicious bambi named “rappel” was going to attack… The signs are everywhere.
Oh.. Yes. It’s raining….

5 Responses to “Beware of bambis named “rappel””

  1. Henrietta Taylor May 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

    Dear Jane, You don’t know me but for the past two days I have been following your adventure. My heart goes out to you – rain is no one’s friend except the farmer’s. I live here in the south of France and would love to extend hospitality to you. Where can I find a map of your route? Good luck Jane! Henrietta Taylor ( friend of Alex Wileman/ Creer)

    • janetrumper May 12, 2014 at 2:13 am #

      Hi! How did you find my blog? Are you in Sydney? A runner? I’m not very politically correct but I suppose I can write whatever I want !

  2. lindy May 11, 2014 at 9:03 pm #

    Oh Janie, it sounds like you need a hug….sending virtual hugs from me xxxxoxxxoo

  3. Alexandra Wileman May 11, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    HI Janie, I was thinking about you today doing this great thing that you didn’t need to do. You are doing something out of the box, something remarkable , you are making your mark on the world , making us all sit up and take notice!!!! What you are doing everyday is more than most of would ever dream of. Your blogs are going to make a fabulous book and such an enormous personal achievement. Keep looking for those silver linings Janie!! Big Hugs xx Alex

    Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Sunday, 11 May 2014 1:51 PM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Beware of bambis named β€œrappel”

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “I woke this morning with joy in my heart…πŸ˜‡ Bar sur Aube is definitely the most beautiful spot so far. I left the city taking photos and loving where I was. The next few villages also scenic. Everything seems to be “a vendre” and shut up. Thoughtful to”

    • janetrumper May 12, 2014 at 2:05 am #

      Thanks Al. Love all your replies. I miss you and Lindy! Wish you were both here 😦 xxx

Leave a Reply

