Escaping God for champagne

8 May

imageSo, today, at 8am, when all the Nuns went to pray… I escaped! I pulled open those big heavy doors and sang Hallelujah ! Just like they do!! 😜
All I had to do then was get another 50 Kms down the road without any road blocks…
There were at least 4. Veuve, Roderer, Mumm and of course my little mate Bollinger.

IMG_1506
I stuffed around a bit in Reims thinking it was Thursday (public holiday) and bought a bit of food incase I found everything shut and got my stamp from Reims Cathedral πŸ™

IMG_1501
There were vineyards and hills. And then some more. The weather had me playing dress ups all day. Wind, rain, sun blah blah blah. Soggy baguette limping down my backpack 😦
I managed about 58 Kms and thought it best to look for a campsite (read spot to hide for the night) as there is still at least another 15 Kms to get to Chalon-en-Champagne with no accommodation.

IMG_1504
So.. Thought I found the secret spot when 30 mins later a bunch of boys ride past and spot my tent. They stop (I’m peering out hoping they bugger off..) they yell something in French and I go back with “I’m ok” in my most feeble pathetic voice .. Must have worked because they’ve disappeared … For now 😱

4 Responses to “Escaping God for champagne”

  1. Carol Greenwood May 8, 2014 at 10:49 am #

    Will you make it to Troyes? That is a beautiful old City.

    • janetrumper May 8, 2014 at 10:55 am #

      Sure I know Mariette. She’s a friend on FB. I’m really not that close to where she lives in the scheme of things though!

  2. Alexandra Wileman May 8, 2014 at 11:00 am #

    Hi Janie

    Must have been exciting to see all that champagne country ! Though you could really taste any I suppose. Loved you description of your escaping from the nuns and the limping baguette in the back pack. Love alex xx Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Thursday, 8 May 2014 11:14 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Escaping God for cha

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “So, today, at 8am, when all the Nuns went to pray… I escaped! I pulled open those big heavy doors and sang Hallelujah ! Just like they do!! 😜 All I had to do then was get another 50 Kms down the road without any road blocks… There were at least 4. V”

    • janetrumper May 8, 2014 at 11:07 am #

      Thanks Al. Love reading all your messages😘
      Looking forward to drinking a bottle of the good stuff with you as soon as I’m home. Really, really love your messages, thanks! xox

Leave a Reply

