Blessed be thy heathen pilgrim

7 May

imageAfter a quick breakfast, Glenn and I left La Maison de 3 Rois and made our way out of Laon. I said goodbye after a few ks as I was keen to get to St Thierry for the night (10 Kms before Reims)
It was wet and muddy for a while, the directions were difficult to follow and I spent some time second guessing, getting advice from my oregon GPS and swearing at the incorrect distances in the book.
The reason for the stuff ups is…
1. There are two different books to follow and the markers on the tracks…. They don’t always add up. My Oregon has waypoints from one of the books, I carry the other text and then the French add some signs. Then the book says join one road, when its really wanting you to join another one. Then today there was black tape all over the road sign I was supposed to take with “detour”…
Then there was the overgrown track that was impassible… You get it?
So, I decide to do the righteous pilgrim thing and stay in a Monastery. I arrive at 5pm… Just in time for 30 mins prayer… shit. And there was a bar across the road. 😡

IMG_1497
So I’m sitting in the chapel with 30 Maria/ Julie Andrews look alikes all chanting and singing in French, crossing themselves, while my Garmin is losing satellite connection and my spot tracker is glowing red and I smell like a burnt piece of bacon. Get. Me. Outta. Here…..
Betcha they’re putting in a good word for the heathen sitting up in the back corner.

3 Responses to “Blessed be thy heathen pilgrim”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 7, 2014 at 1:06 pm #

    High little piece of bacon. I can just smell you.!!!!

    Hope it went well with the Julie Andrewes and you were able to egt a bed. How was the food? Pete for dinner tonight Roast chicken (poulet) not douffy Duck!!! Speak tomoz gotta run ( well drive in my car to CBD)

    Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Wednesday, 7 May 2014 5:25 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Blessed be thy heathen pilgrim

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “After a quick breakfast, Glenn and I left La Maison de 3 Rois and made our way out of Laon. I said goodbye after a few ks as I was keen to get to St Thierry for the night (10 Kms before Reims) It was wet and muddy for a while, the directions were difficu”

  2. Merry May 7, 2014 at 6:43 pm #

    very descriptive Janie – those Nuns sounds just plain French to me!!! xx

  3. Alexandra Wileman May 8, 2014 at 8:10 am #

    Hi Janie, Saw Pete last night here for roast chook and 3 veg and some red wine. He is looking well a little on the thin side so we helped put on some kgs. Well not really he was very restrained and wished he was there with you making sure you were safe from frog thugs on the side of grassy verges. I am loving reading you daily blogs it make us feel like we are going through it with you. Even though we are very slack in comparison. We are getting up at 6pm twice a week to swim to shelley form Manly. I have awestuit and flippers so that I’m not dangling at the back of the pack for any wayward large fish with large fins and teeth. I was thinking of you in the cold, getting out and packing up your tent in low temperatures and getting going. Nasty ! Keep up the positive attitude and keep smiling. Alex x Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Wednesday, 7 May 2014 5:25 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Blessed be thy heathen pilgrim

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “After a quick breakfast, Glenn and I left La Maison de 3 Rois and made our way out of Laon. I said goodbye after a few ks as I was keen to get to St Thierry for the night (10 Kms before Reims) It was wet and muddy for a while, the directions were difficu”

Leave a Reply

