Pilgrims must never answer the door of their tent to a stranger

5 May


So the day started in Arras, walking past the hustle of people opening up market stalls. Couldn’t buy anything but still wished I could walk aimlessly around the place.
The aim was to get to Peronne and camp overnight.. Would be 54kms if I didn’t get lost….
Easy if I didn’t have a pack…
I was entering the battle fields of WW1 and there was an eerie breeze around. I couldn’t stop thinking about Charlie, now aged 19 and how different his life might have been in another time. Mate, go get some money out of my wallet and have a good time. Love you to bits. xxx
The contrast between our cemetery and the German cemetery was really quite disturbing. Very dark and cold.. their dead even have to share a cross. 😦

image

So plan to get 54kms done… Yes I added a few more walking round in circles, but I’m getting used to that, and talking to myself. Then I added a few more trying to find the campsite, but was totally worth it. It was an oasis! 7€ tent site and it had a bar!! Yes the 7€ sounds better as a tent site, two glasses of wine, and a shower for the grand total of 11€!! Shame that’s not where I am now, but more on that later…,
So I have my 2 glasses of wine, shower and get into my tent and I hear this guy saying “newk, newk, allo, allo” (that’s knock knock in French if you don’t understand …..)
I ignore it but he’s not going away. Shit. Ok, so it’s not like we’re the only two in the place, so I tell him to come around the other side of my tent (where there is a light shining so if he attacks me with one of those Croc Dundee sized knives, someone might be able to watch)
So, he comes around and it’s a guy that was drinking at the bar with a plate, knife and fork, kebab, chips and salad on it! For moi?! Seriously!
My early night just got later as I ventured over to his and wifey’s luxurious camper van for a meal and a Belgian beer. He was flapping his arms trying to offer me another kebab ( looked kind of crazy) when I realised he was trying to explain what sort of meat it was. About 5 mins later he mentioned Douffy durck! I suppose “canard” wouldn’t have been as funny.

IMG_1481

One Response to “Pilgrims must never answer the door of their tent to a stranger”

  1. Alexandra Wileman May 5, 2014 at 8:07 am #

    Lovely Little Pilgrim Fantastic to hear your voice again, Got worried when didn’t read your blog for 24hours. Sounds like a great night in the campsite and the duck kebab dinner offered by the scary stranger. Pete coming for dinner on weds so will hear more news from him Lots of love Alex x Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Monday, 5 May 2014 5:20 AM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Pilgrims must never answer the door of their tent to a stranger

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: ” So the day started in Arras, walking past the hustle of people opening up market stalls. Couldn’t buy anything but still wished I could walk aimlessly around the place. The aim was to get to Peronne and camp overnight.. Would be 54kms if I didn’t get l”

Leave a Reply

