Pilgrims can’t save all the French from being

5 May

imageToday was about getting some Kms under the belt to get me as close to Laon so I could have a look around and stay there tomorrow night.
The villages are all beginning to look the same. Most of them are so quiet, almost shut down, and makes getting food and water a bit of an issue. Accommodation is scarce and I’m always looking out for a hidden piece of grass to pitch my tent.
I landed in the UK almost 6 days ago and have done well over 300kms. I’ll take some time tomorrow to work out my plan. So far I’ve been exactly where I’d planned each night distance wise but I should be more settled at night…. Accommodation is a real pain in the arse. I have plenty of time to do the distance. Aim is to be back in NY mid/late June. 🙂
So, tonight I planned to stay at Tergnier. Seedy looking place, major railway hub. I went into a hotel/bar to ask about a room and this smart arse Frog (you know those ugly arrogant ones that hate English speaking people that won the war for them…..) thought it was really funny to say “you don’t speak French! Then I don’t speak English” … Well up yours dickhead… and I walked out. (I didn’t really say that, he was still bigger than me)
So I decided to trudge on 6 Kms further to somewhere less ugly and I have pitched my tent behind some bushes on the side of the road….
It’s 4 degrees but it feels colder. I have my space blanket out, thermals, clothes, down jacket, waterproof jacket and buff and gloves on ( need a pair of gloves with one finder pad exposed to type on phone….) and in my sleeping bag.

2 Responses to “Pilgrims can’t save all the French from being”

  1. Dan May 5, 2014 at 5:23 pm #

    Sounds like great progress Jane. As for the French, tell them their flag should have just white on it;). Stay cool, Dan

  2. Alexandra Wileman May 5, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    OMG all that on and still cold. I hope you meet some more friendly strangers offering Daffy duck kebabs!!! I have a friend near Avignon with a nice warm bed. Unfortunately you don’t look like you are running near there. Loving your blogs keep up the fantastic effort ! Go you pocket rocket , energiser bunny Alex xxx Best Regards,

    Alex Wileman Alocate 0413058268 Alex@alocate.com.au

    From: ultrasmall Reply-To: ultrasmall Date: Monday, 5 May 2014 3:22 PM To: Alexandra Wileman Subject: [New post] Pilgrims can¹t save all the French from being

    WordPress.com janetrumper posted: “Today was about getting some Kms under the belt to get me as close to Laon so I could have a look around and stay there tomorrow night. The villages are all beginning to look the same. Most of them are so quiet, almost shut down, and makes getting food a”

Leave a Reply

