A lone pilgrim shall not bush bash when lost..

30 Apr

Toronto-Dublin-London-Canterbury-Dover-Calais
I’ve had some ups and downs today.
Overnight flight from Toronto to Dublin to Heathrow. No sleep. Train to Paddington was easy but crowded and expensive (£24? I think) Nothing as crowded as the Circle Line to Kings Cross.. some sort of industrial carrying on. Train to Canterbury good. IMG_1461Just wanted to get moving. Anyone know that it’s been wet in the UK? 😉 Muddy as hell. The North Downs Way led me through fields of yellow, old church yards, tiny villages and lots of mud. Tried to follow my book and GPS but they just weren’t adding up. Spent 5kms lost in the woods and gave myself a slap for being a smart arse and not retracing my steps. (Which I did… finally)
Ferry left at 7:15 pm (was in Dover at 5:45 but they wouldn’t let me on the 6:30. Got to Calais at 9:45 pm (time diff an hour later) walked from terminal to city centre in the rain past shady guys camped trying to migrate to UK and then finding all the hotels shut except one that wanted over 100€. Got desperate at 11pm wondering what the eff I’m doing. Now in some seedy spot for 42€… I nearly cried when she said she had a room. Maps and directions are proving difficult, lots of mud in the UK. Track is rougher than I imagined. I must remember to eat. Had one muesli bar and heaps of water and then a sandwich and Pepsi Max on the ferry. image
I cry when I see a dog 😞

8 Responses to “A lone pilgrim shall not bush bash when lost..”

  1. byrnesinoz April 30, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    I’m very envious of your trip, Jane, and will be following with interest. As someone who has done a lot of solo hiking in Europe, I suggest you try and phone (or book online) your rooms a day ahead. It doesn’t cut down on your flexibility that much, and it’s always less stressful arriving somewhere knowing you have a room. If you haven’t booked ahead, even though you will sometimes end up paying more, on average you are better taking the first available room. Taking a chance that you will find something better/cheaper doesn’t always work out and I have ended up hiking many extra k’s some days after passing up the first opportunity. The extra money won’t seem such a big deal when you get back home. Watch out for public holidays, long weekends and sometimes just weekends. I had great trouble finding rooms at those times. Dave Byrnes.

    • janetrumper April 30, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

      I’m carrying a tent Dave. I will be more flexible now I don’t have to swim the English Chanel. My phone is expensive to make calls and the language skills of user not ideal. I’m intending on stopping much earlier than 11 pm. Also, as a “Pilgrim” I’m hoping to get some extra help through some villages….. Must admit, this bed feels good.

      • Mark Gell April 30, 2014 at 3:43 pm #

        What you are not swimming the Channel – well thats it I’m not following this anymore sheesh.

  2. Mark Gell April 30, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

    A Pespi MAX – come on Jane

    • janetrumper April 30, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

      Ok. Tonight I will have a lemonade! 😉

      • Mark Gell April 30, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

        I will be watching your progress imagine a big haired Gellster around the next bend – well virtually anyway.

      • Mark Gell April 30, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

        I just realised that that would be a disincentive.

  3. Merry April 30, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    Oh Janie – you put the rest of us mere mortals to shame. Please be careful on your adventure….I don’t like reading that you are wandering the streets alone at 11pm! Pretty sure none of us do! Be careful special lady – and look forward to the next instalment
    !

Leave a Reply

