arrgghh!!!!

30 Mar

Tomorrow morning I take my friend Suse and my bags and fly to Alice Springs. The thought of being picked up at the airport by two strangers, driving south to Lambert Centre, pitching my tent for the night then waking early and running 650 kms to Birdsville leaves me a little anxious. I just want to get on the plane.
This week has been hectic…. mainly due to my father. After nearly 4 months in hospital after being hit by a car, he was discharged this week.
He really should be in a nursing home but refuses to leave his dog.
This has left my training and final preparation a little disorganised as he has been my major priority and concern.
The weather in Alice Springs has been a high of around 35C the last week, so I am imagining that is the sort of heat I will have to contend with.
Mt Dare (around 200kms into my run) was under water late Feb, so I imagine that there will be some areas that will be quite boggy.
The heat and the amount of rain we have had will make for interesting and “testing” conditions….. probably just enough to keep my mind off the snakes.
My Spot Tracker can be followed at
http://spotwalla.com/tripViewer.php?id=437d4f711815903d8
My flight out of Birdsville is booked for Friday 13th….. 😉

12 Responses to “arrgghh!!!!”

  1. The Running Astronomer March 30, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    You beautiful freak-show. I love that I know you x

    • janetrumper March 30, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      I love that I know you too gorgeous!!

  2. bretto March 30, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    you go girl if i could have supported you again i would have.

  3. malcolmlaw March 30, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Go hard, go well, go safe. Very best of luck Jane.

    • janetrumper March 30, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Go hard yourself young man! Love your work 🙂 Catch up soon…. Jane xoxox

  4. martinpluss March 30, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Hi Jane,

    You know I will be thinking of you. To take your mind off the things ( the race and your Dad) can you give me the name of a good GP who works in your area?

    cheers Plu

    • janetrumper March 30, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      My GP is in Lindfield. She’s fab. You want her name?

  5. Tracy Tresidder March 30, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Be safe and try to enjoy yourself!

  6. Kaye April 3, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    It’ll be all right in the end – and if it’s not all right, it’s not the end! (some subcontinental logic borrowed from The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel). Run your heart out. Kaye

  7. Cathie (Gadfly) April 11, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    Yay Jane – you are a legend!!!! Great stuff! and in the heat too – hope there weren’t too many snakes. Rest up and safe trip home.

  8. Dennis April 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Congrats Jane
    Great to see you made it this time, have a beer for me at the Birdsville pub seeing that you missed out last year.
    Good to see you had the 2 support vehicles, was there water at Big Red ?

    Regards
    Dennis TLCC (Part of last year’s support crew)

    • janetrumper April 14, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Yep, water gave me a few hours more running…….. 😦

Leave a Reply

