Simpson Desert 650 km attempt 2012

13 Mar

On April 1st (yes, that’s April Fool’s Day :)….) I will be starting my 650km run across the Simpson Desert in aid of Bear Cottage.
I have 2 vehicles and my mate from Japan to help me. The cars are well equipped with gear and each carry two people I’ve never met… all makes for interesting times out there in the Desert. Snakes, heat and 1315 sand dunes has to be more comforting than getting in a car with strangers…… right??

Starting at the Geographical Centre of Australia at Lambert Centre I will run past Finke to Mt Dare. (about 136kms)
Dalhousie Springs at around 210 kms, Purnie Bore at 280kms, then not much on the French Line until we get to Poeppel Corner 200 kms later..
So with 480 kms done I’ll have around 166kms before hitting Birdsville..
It will be hot. There will be some treacherous, slippery and slow areas of muddy clay pans after the rain. Will let you know if mud is more fun than the fires that stopped me in September.
“Never hitch a ride with strangers”


Please support my 650km run across the Simpson Desert for Bear Cottage!
http://www.everydayhero.com.au/jane_trumper_9

14 Responses to “Simpson Desert 650 km attempt 2012”

  1. Brett Sammut March 13, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    You are an absolute legend Jane. Will be following you along the way and will add my bit to your charity also. Thank you for being…..you.
    We need more positive role models in our lives.
    My daughters Yr 3 class will also be following your progress.

    • janetrumper March 13, 2012 at 7:20 am #

      Thanks for your support Brett. I will try not to swear if there are 8 year olds following!!!

    • janetrumper March 13, 2012 at 7:21 am #
  2. michelle March 13, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    You never cease to amaze me Jane. Good luck.

    • janetrumper March 13, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      Thanks Michelle! When will I see you next??

  3. keiko rahn March 13, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    This is going to be an incredible feat. You have astonishing powers. Powerful persuasion too, to get your “mate from Japan” to tag along! We will be following you both all the way. Good luck and Godspeed.

    • janetrumper March 13, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      I’m hoping it will be “fun” Keiko! Well, for the first 300kms anyway πŸ˜‰ Come join us for a wine at Birdsville Pub!

  4. Russ March 13, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Hi Jane good luck if you where 2 weeks later I would have come with you, with an extra car I now have, as I still wish to complete it myself. How did you get to help you across, any of the guys that where there last time? You’ll do it cause you would have last time.

    • janetrumper March 13, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      Hello Russell πŸ™‚
      I have a new crew. Nobody from last year but these guys are good. Asking all the right questions and in it to help raise money for my charity, Bear Cottage. No banners at the start, just a few beers at the finish… Timing just got us all keen to do it early April. It will be hotter than September (and MUCH hotter than the winter 2010 run) Muddy sections will be interesting but all part of it. My son Charlie is in Year 12 and I need to be a mother by late April for his final year at school πŸ™‚
      See you at the next event I plan! You bring the sticky date pudding please!
      J xx

  5. Dale Mervin March 28, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Hi Jane

    You beat me to the punch! I am planning an unsupported solo trek across the Simpson in June next year to raise money for Camp Quality. I will be going through the middle of the Desert, possibly 100km from the French line at any one time, carrying my food, water and equipment on a yet to be built cart. Training is hard but I’m loving getting fit and can’t wait to be jumping out of my skin at the start line.

    I just want to wish you all the luck in the world. You are amazing and a big inspiration.

    Be safe and enjoy every moment out there.

    Dale

    • janetrumper March 30, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Hi Dale,
      If you want to meet up after my run for any info… let me know. That’s a pretty serious endeavour you are taking! How much water are you planning on? How many Kms? Where do you live?

      • Dale Mervin March 30, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

        Hi Jane

        I’m up on Bilgola Plateau.

        Yep, it’s a tough one. Only one person has ever done it unsupported before and he did it on 4lts per day. i will need more like 6 or 7 so I’ll have quite a bit more weight to carry. I’m going to get onto the University Engineering faculties to see if they want to build me some super light carbon fibre cart or something:).

        I’d love to meet with you after your run. You are choosing a pretty warm time of year! I have gone for June to avoid the heat and the snakes! I may take a route that has me 100km from my support vehicles so a bite out there would probably be fatal. Best to avoid!

        Total distance is 200km less than yours. 440km approx, again, depending on my route.

        Good luck, I’m sure it will be an amazing experience for you and your crew. Are you filming it? I’m hoping to film the whole thing, camera crew in tow, but that’s no certainty.

  6. Liam, Caeylen & Niamh April 7, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    GO Jane! My children, Caeylen & Niamh, and I Liam met you West of Dalhousie Springs and East of Dalhousie (on your way to Purni Bore). Blue Landcruiser. I came over to say Hi at your camp at Dalhousie Springs, and had already met Peter at the Stuart Ranges Caravan Park, Coober Pedy. You are inspirational to us, and I have mde the point to Niamh (14 years) that a woman can do ANYTHING!
    All the best, Liam, Caeylen & Niamh.

    • janetrumper April 14, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      Lovely seeing you out there Liam! Thanks for all your support. Jane xox

Leave a Reply

