Hokas.. 2,300kms, really?? Yes. Really.

17 Jul

Today I am retiring a part of me. My first pair of loyal Hoka Bondi B’s.
After over 2,300kms, I think they deserve a rest.

On my 16km run this morning I realised that they, while still comfortable, have been the best budget pair of shoes I have ever bought.

These were my first pair. (I actually paid good money for them…) To run injury free for less than $10 every 100kms… with no costly blister treatment… not even a bandaid, no physio visits… how good is that?

I will get a pair of Evo Tarmacs hitting stores for the first time this week to rotate with my existing Bondi’s.

Watch out… they may give me the edge at City2Surf to hide the pain I’ll be in from Mt Solitary 7 days earlier….:)

May all you other Hoka huggers remain injury free.

15 Responses to “Hokas.. 2,300kms, really?? Yes. Really.”

  1. delmsie July 17, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    That could make them the best value runners on the planet. The uppers still look brand new. Mind you I am biased, and love my Evo Stinson’s. Looking forward to many happy adventures with them too!!

    • janetrumper July 17, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      The uppers are brand new! The only thing that looks weird is the brown glue from where I had velcro for the gaitors across the desert last year… and I didn’t need the gaitors! No holes in the uppers and I will take the inner soles out as spares as they are in good nick as well.

  2. Antony Daamen July 17, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Thanks for your little story…
    They recommend to change shoes after 800-1000km
    So these shoes have done you proud!
    I often notice my shoes start to feel like ‘clogs’ ( I come from Holland) Like the ;shock-absorbption is less. Maybe it is psycho-somatic :)
    Anyhow, just wanted to say I enjoy reading all your posts!

    • janetrumper July 17, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      Thanks Antony! I’m a bit on the small side but with Asics and Nkes I would only get 1,000 kms from a pair of shoes. Hokas have at least doubled that!

  3. Paul Green July 18, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    I bought a pair of Hoka Bondi B’s on your recommendation about 2 months ago Jane, and so far they are great – so comfy.
    Unfortunately I’ve now got an unrelated calf injury, but looking forward to getting back in them soon and smashing out some km’s!

    • janetrumper July 19, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      Sorry about your injury Paul. Hope you are back and bouncing in your Hokas soon! Have you tried on the Tarmacs yet?

      • Paul Green July 24, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

        Haven’t tried them yet, but very keen. Off to the UK for a few weeks so will see if there are any there to try.
        Hopefully injury will clear up whilst I’m there too and I’m back ready for Sydney Marathon. Will you be there?

      • janetrumper July 24, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

        Yes Paul. Sydney will be my 100th official marathon and I am pacing the 4:30hr group for some fun!

  4. Cathie (Gadfly) July 22, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    That’s impressive mileage…..for the shoes and the runner! My first pair haven’t got that many km’s in them, but the sole looks similar…..methinks, I’m a little heavier landing on them than you! Would love to know how you go with the Tarmacs…..I’m planning on a new pair before Narrabeen in Jan….was going to get more Bondi’s, but thinking about these. They look narrower than the Bondi B…are they? See you out there soon…..

    • janetrumper July 22, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      Hey Cathie! Try on the Tarmacs! I love them. They seem just a little “smaller” than the Bondis. (less bulk to lift really…) I will be alternating the Bondis and Tarmacs and giving some feedback soon. My Tarmacs (that I ran tnf in have trail tread….) are awesome on trail. THE BEST!

      • Cathie (Gadfly) July 24, 2012 at 10:45 am #

        Thanks Jane, think I might just have to try them. Not likely to get out on trail anytime soon, but if they are good on road, then I’ll give them a go (not that there’s anything wrong with Bondi’s)…. Keep us posted on how you find them.

  5. Nick Ham August 7, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    How lucky are you to have feet that fit Hokas. I am truly envious. I need them for the Lakeland 100 but they would trash my feet very quickly. :-(

    • janetrumper August 7, 2012 at 6:32 am #

      What styles have you tried? I am happy with the Bondi’s and the new Evo Tarmacs but the Mafates didn’t suit my foot. Maybe try another style?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2,000+km in Hoka OneOne Bondi B: by The First Woman to Run Across the Simpson Desert | Hoka OneOne Australia - July 19, 2012

    [...] Read on… [...]

  2. Journey of a million steps | Hoka OneOne Australia - September 27, 2012

    [...] Tarmac or Evo. And if you think that’s just crazy, check out our friend Jane Trumper – she got over 2,000km out of her shoes, and she’s vertically challenged. That means she must have got, like, I dunno – a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

